Thursday, 21 April 2011

Motor City Drum Ensemble mixes the new DJ-Kicks....

Motor City Drum Ensemble has mixed the next edition of DJ-Kicks, due out this summer on !K7. The release will be Danilo Plessow's first official mix CD. Known for his bass-heavy, soul-inspired sound, the Stuttgart-based artist put out a string of records between 2007 and 2009 that made him a favorite among DJs and house music fans, most notably the Raw Cuts 12-inch series. The mix looks to be a particularly diverse affair, with plenty of nods to Plessow's influences, starting off with experimental jazz gods Sun Ra and moving through selections from Aphex Twin, Rhythm & Sound, Tony Allen and Loose Joints. Classic house fare comes in the form of Mr. Fingers and Recloose, while Fred P (AKA Black Jazz Consortium) brings the ethereal touch with "On This Vibe." An exclusive Motor City Drum Ensemble track is included as well, entitled "L.O.V.E."


01. Sun Ra - Door To The Cosmos
02. Electric Wire Hustle - Again (Scratch 22 Remix)
03. Rhythm & Sound - Mango Drive
04. Tony Allen - Ariya
05. Peven Everett - Stuck
06. Bad Jazz Troupe - Breakdown Treat (Dusty Rework) (MCDE Edit)
07. Mr. Fingers - The Juice
08. Rick "Poppa" Howard - Can Your Love Find Its Way (Club Vocal)
09. Stone - Girl I Like the Way That You Move (Dub)
10. Fred P - On This Vibe
11. Creative Swing Alliance - Don't Forget Your Keyz
12. Geraldo Pino & The Heartbeats - Black Woman Experience
13. Philippe Sarde - Le Cortège Et Course
14. Robert Hood - The Pace
15. Loose Joints - Pop Your Funk (Vocal Version)
16. Arts & Crafts - I've Been Searching (Walter Gibbons 12-inch Mix)
17. Motor City Drum Ensemble - L.O.V.E.
18. Aphex Twin - Actium
19. Recloose - Cardiology (Isolée Mix)
20. Latecomer - Cosmic Cart
21. Timo Lassy - African Rumble
22. James Mason - Sweet Power, Your Embrace

!K7 will release Motor City Drum Ensemble's DJ-Kicks in July 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment