Tuesday, 28 August 2012

Endangered Species, No Regular Play's Debut Album

No Regular Play will release their debut album, Endangered Species, this November on Wolf + Lamb.

No Regular Play is Nicholas DeBruyn and Greg Paulus, two childhood friends from Minnesota who became core members of the Wolf + Lamb family after attending a party at The Marcy Hotel (the labels' home base in Brooklyn) in 2006. Though most of their records are made for the club, live instrumentation is at the center of their craft: many of their songs have lead vocals, and Paulus plays trumpet during their performances (he's also played with the acclaimed indie group Beirut and Matthew Dear's live band). Endangered Species continues this trend, with the duo working in everything from grand piano to African drums to "a shaker instrument made of old dried goat toenails that rattle together" (a gift from DeBruyn's mother). The album was recorded entirely at the Marcy's studio, which doubles as its dance floor on weekends.

"People who really care about music and the art in a pure and honest way are a form of endangered species in the modern world," say No Regular Play on the subject of the album's title. "This album is a tribute to all those out there who are the genuine article."

01. Birdfeathers
02. Wont Quit
03. Endangered Species
04. Nameless
05. Never Had Enough
06. Kickback
07. El Dorado
08. The Answer
09. Card Game
10. Keep it Right
11. Where They Lay

Wolf + Lamb will release Endangered Speceis on November 23rd, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment