Tuesday, 18 May 2010

Z Records compiles 20 years of Joey Negro

Z Records is set to release 20 Years of Joey Negro, a three-disc compilation looking back on the prolific UK producer's career to date.

The collection marks the 20th anniversary of the release of Dave Lee's first 12-inch under his Joey Negro guise: Do It, Believe It on famed New York house imprint Nu Groove. The compilation will be released through Lee's own Z Records, although mixing responsibilities have been handed to his long term friends Grant Nelson and DJ Spinna, who take care of a disc each.

On CD1 Nelson tackles Lee's house output under his vast array of aliases: Akabu, Sessomatto, Doug Willis, Jakatta and Raven Maize material is mixed-up alongside a clutch of Joey Negro tracks and remixes. DJ Spinna meanwhile, shines a light on Lee's work in seven-piece live act The Sunburst Band, which also includes remixes of the group from Dennis Ferrer, Idjut Boys and Henrik Schwarz. And rounding out the collection, CD3 serves as a bonus disc offering exclusive edits, remixes and productions.

If you're unsure as to what to expect sound-wise, allow us to point you in the direction of our recent Playing Favourites feature with Lee, in which RA's Finn Johannsen drew upon tracks from Blaze, Esther Williams and Doobie Brothers. Lee has built his career upon a deep-seated love of disco and classic house sounds, which was certainly in plain view during their conversation.

CD 1 – Joey Negro Mixed by Grant Nelson
01. Erro - Change For Me / MAW - Backfired (Accapella)
02. Mistura - Think Positive
03. Doug Willis - Spread Love / Joey Negro - Can't Get High Without You(Accapella)
04. Z Factor - We'll Keep Climbing
05. Joey Negro - Can't Get High Without You
06. Joey Negro - Love Hangover (DJ Spen Remix)
07. Joey Negro - Ride The Rhythm
08. Raven Maize - Forever Together (Grant Nelson Remix)
09. The Sunburst Band - Fly Away
10. Dave Lee feat. Ann Saunderson - You're Not Alone
11. The Blackbyrds - Mysterious Vibes
12. Joey Negro - Must Be The Music (Nicola Fasano Remix / Grant Nelson Re-Fix)
13. Nova Fronteira - Baila Conmigo
14. Dave Lee - Latronica
15. MAW feat. India - Backfired (Joey Negro Remix / Grant Nelson Special Edit)
16. Z Factor - Makes You Crazy
17. Yolanda Wyns - I Know You, I Live You (Joey Negro Remix / Grant Nelson Re-visit)
18. Jakatta - Scattering Stars
19. Akabu - I'm Not Afraid Of The Future
20. Grant Nelson Epilogue

CD 2 – The Sunburst Band Mixed by DJ Spinna
01. Searching
02. What's Your Sign?
03. Do You Really Love Me?
04. Moving With The Shakers
05. U Make Me So Hot (Yam Who? Mix)
06. We Can Live Forever
07. Shabadowah
08. Far Beyond
09. Everyday
10. Dusk
11. Twinkle (Idjut Boys Remix)
12. Turn It Out (IG Culture Mix)
13. Atlantic Forest
14. Survivin' feat. Leroy Burgess
15. For All Eternity
16. Journey To The Sun (Dennis Ferrer Mix) / I'll Be There For You
17. Man of War (Henrik Schwarz Mix)
18. He Is (Ian Friday Tea Party Mix)
19. He Is (Album Mix)
20. Until The End of Time
21. I Know U Care
22. Fly Away

Z-Records will release 20 Years of Joey Negro in July of 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment